We Did It

At 6:35 Pacific Standard Time on March 18th, 2015, it happened.

There was a gap between the material I was writing and the pre-determined ending of the book, and at that minute on that day, that gap was closed.

I must confess to not being completely prepared for the relief that followed. Perhaps knowing that there is still much work to do with the manuscript before it is time to send it off to a publisher is what made me think that, but the moment that gap was closed, a feeling of accomplishment took me, and I felt validation.

435 pages, 156, 383 words and 20 chapters.

Apart from that, well over 1000 pages were written and an untold number of words, very little of which has gone into this current version of the manuscript.

Even though the majority of the chapters need prose to be fixed, the characters need further dimensions and many things need to be moved and refurbished to find a proper place in the overall story, the simple fact remains. This manuscript is uninterrupted. It goes from beginning to end without a break, and that alone qualifies it as a finished book.

It is hard to believe it has only been since June that serious writing on this story began, and now only a few remain before it is ready for the long and perilous journey to find a publisher.

This opens up a little more time for me to work on other things. My two scripts, a horror comedy and a supernatural sleuth story can certainly benefit from some attention. I have a Youtube channel that is actually starting to get some views, so new content is required there. On top of that, there is still much to do with this story and these characters. More world building articles for the site, more illustrations needed from Joe for when we finally get it printed, and of course further installments. I have at least two more books in mind, though there may be as many as eight swimming around upstairs. We will see what the future holds.

But this draft is done, and once the prose is fixed, the search will begin. It has been a blessing to meet these characters, and in the time we have spent together, we have all become very close. Though we have many travels ahead, I am certain they can give me the strength to see it through to the end.

Thank you Cullen McCurdy, David Spada, Joseph Buehrer, Fallon Leigh Walker, Steven Hilton, Jack Edwards and Rishon Cox for walking this road with me. I would have never made it this far without you.

Thank you to Zhyx, River, Celice, Blondie, Hunter, Glaive and all the rest for choosing to carry this tale. It would have not been possible without your input.

And thanks to all of you reading this for showing me that this pursuit was not fruitless. That it mattered to someone as much as it mattered to me.

Above pictured is Joe’s progress on the illustration. We have another world building article in the proofreading stage, and I will be working to fix up a few chapters a week. It shouldn’t be long before the current and final versions of chapters 1 and 2 are available for you to view, and hopefully you will have as much fun reading them as I did writing them.

I will see you all soon.

Leave a Reply

