My First (Real) Short Film

There is a reason I have not been able to update this blog before the completion of draft 3 of the book.

I wrote a little short film, a fake trailer for an action movie called The Ice Cream Man. Think Dirty Harry, but instead of a cop, he sells ice cream. It was done as a joke, and unexpectedly became a pretty hefty production with me attached as director. We got a few scenes shot a few days prior, but today is the big day. Starting at noon, in about two hours and thirty five minutes, we will begin shooting, and we will continue until around 7 or 8 pm.

It will be a full day, and a stressful day, but hopefully also a fun day.

I have done short films before, such as the yet to be posted Writer & Red and The ‘Lugia’ Thing, but this will be my first time working with such a large crew, and with paid actors. Today is a film I don’t take too seriously. It is a simple short that I wrote for a few laughs. Hardly a magnum opus. But I aim to give it my all. Today will be a practice run for me as far as directing goes. That has been the dream ever since I was 12. To make movies and tell stories.

Going to shower and get ready now. Wish me luck and I will tell you all about it in a rather extensive article tomorrow.

After that, it will be right back to work on writing. A friend of mine is itching to help me hammer out another draft of a horror script I put on the back burner.

As for Zhyx, don’t you worry. It has only been a day since I stopped writing, and the ideas have started coming back. Already starting to miss it, but I will stick with the plan and give both my characters and myself a much needed rest this next month before getting back to Tygan.

Sorry for any typos, but I am in a bit of a rush.

Leave a Reply

