My Job Interview at the Chinese Theater

In between writing Zhyx, my life has been pretty mundane. I live in Los Angeles, working a part time job in retail to pay the bills while exploring a career in creative fiction in both written and visual mediums. Be it books, movies or video games, that is what the struggle has been down here.

From last October to now, things have been pretty dull. A few internships and checking out some small scale productions aside, the job had taken up a lot of my time.

Then the store cut my hours in half, knocking me down to 15 a week. I asked about it, and it seems they will not be going back up until October. That is barely enough to pay my rent, let alone get things like food and gas. It was a real kick in the pants, but it did give me the drive to go out and look for a second job, hopefully one that would take the place of the store and leave me feeling more fulfilled in my life’s pursuits.

So I started applying to film theaters. The big ones like AMC, Arclight, Regal, they are plentiful in this city. But there is one theater that is more than just a theater, but a historic landmark where many an artist have been immortalized. That is the famous Chinese Theater on Hollywood Blvd.

The place where artists imprint their hands and feet in the cement outside the auditoriums, the place where every major movie receives the red carpet treatment, quite possibly the ultimate monument to the art of movies. I of course never thought I stood a chance at working there, but I went ahead and sent my application. What harm could it do?

At precisely 5:14 pm yesterday evening, I got a call from the Chinese Theater, asking me to come in for an interview.

My jaw about hit the floor. The famous landmark is a fifteen minute walk from my apartment, so I went ahead and got ready.

Ironically, though I have been living in Los Angeles for eight months now, and have been a lover of cinema for all my life, this was the first time I ever set foot inside the building. Down the long corridor they have portraits of some of cinema’s greatest icons leaving their imprints on the cement, from Clint Eastwood, to Jack Nicholson. From Steven Spielberg to Sidney Poitier. And I stood a chance at working there.

It was pretty exciting, so I snapped this selfie before crossing into the box office to meet my prospective boss.

20150619_122528

So what was the story? They are looking for people to work over the summer, where films are known for making the most money, and traffic is the most heavy. The job is a minimum wage position, mostly working late nights that end at 1 in the morning. But damn it, it is the Chinese Theater! I mean…the Chinese Theater! This is the place where Sheriff Bart shot Harvey Korman in the nuts at the end of Blazing Saddles! This is a place I always wanted to go to, but the prospect of working there? I would have never dreamed it.

Had to bottle up my excitement during the interview, while my prospective boss talked to me about etiquette that was expected during red carpet premiers when Hollywood Royalty comes strolling in. How exciting is it when someone says that “Chris Pratt might come here, so be professional.”

Not sure if I nailed the interview, but time will tell. I will find out in the next few days if the job is mine. If not, there are plenty of other theaters with open doors. But today was a great day. Not everyone can say they had a job interview at the Chinese Theater.

Leave a Reply

