This Week’s Kick In the Teeth

This has been a rough week, and what’s strange is last week was going so well. For the first time in a month, I had 100 views for a week’s work of posting. For others that may seem like pennies, but for me it’s pretty good news.

Some of you may be wondering why I’ve been so inactive this week. Allow me to explain.

This Monday I got some pretty bad news. Monday is a day I had grown to love because that was the day I left my retail job and went to my industry job. I had grown to love Monday and dread Friday. This Monday reminded me why I used to hate the day so much.

I was laid off.

Not fired, mind you. Just laid off for the slow period during the summer. It was unexpected and I had no prior warning. This didn’t do much to help my already existing depression, and I sunk into a pretty deep stupor that didn’t really start to soften up until noon yesterday.

These last four days, which are usually ones of work, have been devoted to the job search and the novel. I didn’t even get my sketch of Red done due to it not taking priority.

My condition makes these things hit me especially hard, but I was able to get through it with the help of family and friends, and for that I’m eternally grateful.

I was able to work in a pretty productive meeting with my editor and got some new edits done on the manuscript. I aim to wrap up my work on chapter 9 tomorrow, but we will see how that plays out. At the very least I should be able to finish my sketch of my leading man, or rather leading dragon.

I doubt I’ll break the 100 view barrier this week due to the slow period following Monday’s bad news, but will still try for it over the weekend.

That’s all for now. I’ll see you all later.

7 thoughts on “This Week’s Kick In the Teeth

  1. Fortunately you have economic safety but it’s hard not to feel as if you’ve been kicked in the teeth when you get laid off or fired. Congratulations on hitting a hundred! If you’re consistent your views will only continue to grow….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

