Adventures With A New Supporting Character

It’s been a rough few weeks seeking out the next film related job, but I’ve been trying to keep busy on the Never Heroes fantasy/adventure book series in the meantime.

Firstly, it looks like we’ve got a cover design to work with. After looking over some Struzan and Struzan-esque pieces, my illustrator and I touched upon a composition which seems highly appropriate for our first cover for this series. More on that shortly as our scaly lead is on the way.

Bigger news is how editing is coming along. In between my editor providing some wonderful feedback, I’ve been doing some polishing of my own, and stumbled upon a solution to something that was troubling me.

I had a character who originally was going to be introduced in book two, a  high ranking military figure. However, upon looking over the original manuscript, I could find no good reason for him to be completely absent from the first book’s events, especially considering those events were so important and he would be involved. So, during my run through, I’ve been finding places to insert him that seem most appropriate, though I’ve been careful not to overdo it.

The introduction of this character and wanting to flesh him out better may have actually worked to the story’s advantage, as there is a sequence at the act two break where the characters meet someone who gives them a much needed helping hand. This character is a lot like the ship’s captain in Raiders of the Lost Ark, they are never mentioned before, and never seen thereafter. Though in Raiders this was handled well, here it seemed a bit too convenient, and I couldn’t help but be troubled by it.

It is something that always bugged me in stories, someone coming out of nowhere and saving the day, but never being around when the characters needed them again. Sometimes that’s the way real life works, you meet someone who gives you a helping hand and go your separate ways, but I wanted these characters to be more than plot devices and rungs on a ladder for my heroes to climb. But, this little bit of poor writing may actually be a lifesaver.

It seems that character could be easily replaced with this military figure, giving them a much greater role in the plot and making them more than just set dressing, which is precisely what a character shouldn’t be. The first character didn’t exactly have a lot of individuality to begin with, so now it will be someone the audience already knows and can relate to much better. Honestly, the prospect of doing a re-write on this scene is kind of exciting, as it has solved one of my biggest problems faced when injecting this new supporting player into the narrative.

Just a little good news in an otherwise rough few weeks. Anyway, hope you’re all doing well and thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Adventures With A New Supporting Character

Leave a Reply

