Of Book Covers and Final Acts

Well, crossed an important threshold in my book yesterday. I retreaded my steps through a flawed narrative a little at a time, polishing out the flaws a little at a time and bringing it all to a fine mirror shine. Yesterday I completed my work on chapter 15. Now I have four chapters to go, the final act of the story.

If there is one word I could use to describe writing the final act of this book, that word would be exhausting. It culminated in a two chapter long battle sequence between my hero and the villain, a battle filled with great billowing fire and a city pushed to the edge of ruination.Writing it last year, I could almost feel the traded blows and flames myself, and to finally type The End was a great relief.

But, as is the case with all written works, writing consists a lot of re-writing. There is nary a time many writers can get it right on the first go. You must first write a story, and then bring it out. That has certainly been the case with the previous 15 chapters, all of which have grown in ways I could not have foreseen when first writing this book.

Well, we’re on the final leg, at least for this edit. I’m hoping to wrap things up by the end of the week.

In the meantime, another cover piece has been taken care of for the book more or less. Pictured is below Major Celice Arietta, our determined soldier who is quickly emerging as a favorite supporting player amongst me and my cohorts. Some minor fine tunes are still needed, but the color scheme itself works, and she looks ready as she ever was to blackmail some dragons.

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 4.48.52 AM

Starting Monday, my illustrator and I will start our coloring work on another supporting player, our scholarly yet embittered orc Blondie. The color scheme for her promises to be challenging since there will be a lot of experimentation with skin tone and the look of her clothing.

Cover_Blondie_02

Expect to see more of these two soon. We’ve all been most thrilled how this cover is shaping up to be.

Will get back to all of you very soon and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

