Werewolves & Dragons: A Game Plan

Balancing two writing projects alone is a chore, let alone three projects from three wildly different genres and tones.

I’m still prepping for my eventual return to Haiden and the story of the ancient dragon known as Red and his reluctant journey to becoming a savior for his world, and have been biding most of my time working on the screenplay for Manhunters, the crime/horror screenplay about a group of lycanthropes hunting a serial killer. I hit a major roadblock on Manhunters yesterday, essentially coming to the realization that the entire latter half of the story needed to be torn down and rebuilt.

The issue with that one is a daunting one, making sure the villain is a credible threat to the heroes. In order to do that, I need to build him up, show his cruelty in an appropriate way, and show my heroes at their most vulnerable. The pacing is nice and brisk thus far, with everything neatly lined up by page 41, leaving me with around 59 more pages to work with before I hit my standard 100 page maximum.

Looking at that latter half where it is now, it does have some good plot points, but could be, and needs to be so much more in order to succeed on the levels I wish. It is a much less complicated project than Never Heroes, but still requires my undivided attention to work.

Because of this, I’ve come to a decision. I will not return to working on Never Heroes until Manhunters is done. It shouldn’t be too long a process, between one and three weeks, but I’ll need to get the narrative on a page in order for it not to be a distraction during working on the book series.

Still, we’ll be working on the illustrations for Red’s various misadventures, and we’ve got another one in the works. From chapter 19 where the climactic battle takes place, this illustration depicts River hiding in a cliff face from the villainous dragon known as Heavy. So far, this is what we’ve come up with.

river_heavy_01

We’re all very happy with how this one is looking so far. Like all the others though, just wait till it’s done. It’ll be something special.

Rest assured, the ideas are still coming. Some nice set pieces and dialogue have been popping up for the first book as well as the subsequent installments in the series. This break will help me get those ideas organized before doing another waltz on the keyboard.

That’s all for now. Hope you all enjoy this latest preview, and I’ll let you all know when it’s a wrap on Manhunters. Then the time will come to leave the city by the bay and soar Haiden’s skies with Red once more.

Leave a Reply

