Never Heroes News: Chapters 2 & 3 Are Done (Again)

Greetings friends. Sorry for taking such a long time to get back. Last week has been one of many disappointments. However, sitting around and moping won’t fix things. The only way to do that is to get to work, so I’ve made myself pretty busy.

The sixth draft of my first novel, the fantasy/adventure epic Never Heroes, has doubled in length. That’s right, I’ve since written over 13,000 words, bringing the total up to 65 pages. My daily goal of 2k words has been working out very well, and I’m actually quite surprised with how much material is being ported over from the previous draft. Because of this, chapter 3 came in at a whopping 24 pages, a personal record for me in chapter length. No overindulging though. That’s just how the cards fell.

Chapter 4 promises to be an exciting one. That one is going to have some major re-writes, a brand new action scene, and some nice ports over from the previous draft. I also expect it to be very long and atmospheric. Also it serves as a nice place to put something that had been bugging me, a mention of the character of Saar’Jya, who won’t be appearing in tis book in the flesh, but still will carry a heavy influence over the unfolding story.

Also, big, big news everyone. Our cover is looking fantastic so far. I won’t show you any previews on this one but suffice to say, it is going to be a knockout. My artist and I will be doing some additional experimentation with our title font in order to have it be more than just black letters, stylish though those black letters are.

Hit a record number of job applications today. Sent out fifty of the little buggers. We’ll see if anyone bites.

Thank you again Stephen King for your awesome words on reading. The mere act of picking up a book as been immensely helpful. I’m now about a third of the way through Salem’s Lot and have just passed by my first vampire attack. Things are getting spooky and it has helped me re-learn the art of prose. My writing hasn’t been this productive in a long time.

I’m going to make an attempt to finish up chapter 4 by Monday. I got three days to work with so that should be more than enough. Who here thinks I can do it? Place your bets.

Catch you all later.

3 thoughts on “Never Heroes News: Chapters 2 & 3 Are Done (Again)

  1. Ahh!! I’m so so sorry I didn’t get you my review =( However, if you want me to review the new draft, please let me know. I’m just so busy right now trying to finish my own stories; I don’t have a lot of time. =( However, I’m so happy you are making progress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

