One Chapter Down

Well, today I was able to complete the final edits on the first chapter of my novel, some ten years after the original idea first took root.

I expect this first chapter to be the most difficult of the bunch for one simple reason. I’ve read the damn thing so many times I just can’t stand it anymore.

Don’t you hate it how that happens? You read your own work over and over again to the point that you just hate it, even when the words and characters land precisely where you want them? Well chapter 1 was the most oft edited chapter of the bunch. It contained many plot holes and pacing issues that needed to be fixed, so it reached perfection long before the rest of the manuscript.

Now that chapter is out of the way and I’ve got seventeen more to go. Seventeen chapters that are fresh and new, and in much greater need of my attention and love. I am happy to be putting this first chapter to rest so the remainder of the story can get my undivided attention on these final series of edits. I’m honestly quite looking forward to what comes next.

Editing is one of the most fun parts of writing, so these final few weeks are looking to be quite the entertaining romp.

One thought on “One Chapter Down

  1. I understand how it feels. When I did my dissertation for for doctoral degree, it doesn’t allow “any” mistake. So I read it over and over again. There are so many rules for mechanics: punctuations, grammar, sentence structure, length of each sentence; let alone the content. Well, I hired editor to do the editing, and typing. I remember reading the same chapter, I only saw what I was supposed to write, didn’t pick up any mistakes.
    Good job. Now you’ve done with Chapter One. Keep writing.
    Hi I’m Miriam, came from M&G to be in your community and leave you my link before I read more of your posts.
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/

    Like

Leave a Reply

