My First Writing Check

Today I received a check for $50. This may not seem so earth-shattering an event to some, but to me this was a highly symbolic event. I got $50 for writing.

I was hired for MoviePilot magazine back in December and was told I would be paid 1 dollar for every thousand views my articles get, though they would only pay in installments of 50 dollars. So every 50K views my work gets, I get a nice little check for 50 dollars.

I took a half month hiatus from MoviePilot to finish my book, and didn’t exactly have a lot of material bouncing around upstairs I was interested in doing. Yesterday however, I went back and hammered out a quick article, which has unexpectedly received a lot of traction.

Got an email this morning from the head of the company welcoming me back and thanking me for the article. A few minutes later my email notification pinged again. I’d just had $50 deposited into my Paypal account.

Most writers never see a cent for their work.

Hopefully this will just be the beginning. I’ll be experimenting to see what format works best for me to maximize my views. I’ll do my best to make sure this next check is a lot more than 50. May this be the first of many.

5 thoughts on “My First Writing Check

  1. That sounds like a lot of views you have to get to get paid, but you did it! That’s awesome. Congratulations! Hoping it will be just the first of many cheques for your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

