Script Coverage: Extra Money & Artist’s Security

Since completing my book I’ve managed to get a job covering scripts. The money isn’t great. I get paid around $150 for reading ten scripts over two weeks. But it’s a little extra money, some good reading material, and a new industry connection that may lead to some perks down the road.

Of course this job has other perks, and one of the biggest is it has helped me grow more secure as an artist.

How does it do that? Well, I’ve read some bad scripts.

Some very, VERY bad scripts.

There are two types of artists in the world, ones with ego rampant that learn nothing more due to imagined perfection, and those that continuously strive to get better because they think they’re no good. I’m the latter. They say artists are their own worst critics. My work finds itself at the receiving end of a sledgehammer when I get ahold of it.

Since finishing my book, I felt both relief and apprehension. I wonder if anything will come of it, or if these ten years of effort will only net me fifty bucks and an outing to Denny’s. It is a sad feeling to believe so fully in a project, but not believe in your ability to give it the exposure it needs. That insecurity inevitably bleeds over to the project itself, and you wonder if it’s good enough to turn anyone’s head.

Then you read a bad script.

Most of the scripts I’ve read on this job weren’t terrible. Pretty much all of them have good ideas and show promise. A few of them are even close to being done. But there are some…

I read a script last week that literally had no plot. The character had no goal, the story drifted aimlessly from point to point with no direction, and it seemed to be setting a record for just how many cliches it could check off.

I must sound terribly snooty typing this, shitting on someone else’s work when they no doubt worked very hard on it. Art takes effort whether or not it comes out good or bad, and the completion of any project should be commended for the artist having the guts and the tenacity to see it through.

The artist who wrote this script had a lot to learn, and I do hope they’re able to make their dreams come true. But reading work like that reminds me of how far I’ve come, and that I have done things that can be valuable. That’s a pretty good feeling to have.

This week my collaborators and I will attempt to craft the perfect query letter for our labor, and hopefully start shaking some fruit off the tree.

In the meantime you can still check out the sneak preview of our novel following this link. We hope you like it as usual.

Catch y’all later.

One thought on “Script Coverage: Extra Money & Artist’s Security

Leave a Reply

