My Sequel Problem

With the completion of my first book in a planned series of four, I find myself at a bit of a crossroads. Never Heroes, the story of a fire breathing dragon’s unlikely turn from tyrant to savior is the story I’ve done that has the most life to it with the biggest legs and the widest wings. During the writing of the first book, I planned out much of the events that will take place in books 2, 3 and the 4th and final novel of the main story arc.

Most of them anyway. Books 2 and 4 seem to have developed rather naturally, but the 3rd book has generated some issues. I’m not exactly sure what my heroes will be going up against.

Originally there were six books, but that number was thinned down to four, only the most absolutely necessary remaining. I could knock another book off the line, sure, but that would leave book two feeling far too packed and rushed for me to work with. There has to be four, and the third book will contain several critical plot points that shall determine where the series goes.

But what shall I do to challenge my heroes so I’m not just merely checking off these plot points? That is the question. I already have solid villains for books 2 and 4 that’ll keep things mixed up so that isn’t an issue. Book 3 certainly has no shortage of creative ideas for what my villain of the week could be. I have a few solid premises in the till, but do worry it may be too similar to the dynamic found in the first book. I do want to follow the conventions I’ve set, but at the same time I don’t want to shirk innovation wherever the possibility presents itself.

Fortunately we have a lot of time to think about this. With a publisher yet to be lined up, time constraints are nonexistent. We’ve got time to discuss it, time to plan, and a whole other book to complete before we reach that bridge.

Hope it doesn’t break on us.

Leave a Reply

