When A Favorite Actor Shares Your Writing

I’ve been working for MoviePilot magazine for the last four months, a fan powered community of writers contributing new and op eds on all things pop culture. Since arriving there, I’ve earned my first ever payment for my work, an exciting event in the life of any writer. Today however I received an additional perk that has left me smiling wide.

I’ve been shared by one of my favorite actors. Lets talk about an actor named Lance Henriksen.

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 5.33.55 PM

For those who don’t know, Lance Henriksen is an actor best known for his appearances in films like The Terminator, Near Dark, and the television show Millennium by X Files creator Chris Carter. His most well known role is the character of Bishop, the heroic android from Aliens, James Cameron;s stunning sequel to the original 1979 classic. Henriksen is the only actor apart from Sigourney Weaver to appear in multiple entries in the series, having starred in Aliens, Alien 3, and Alien vs. Predator.

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 5.34.35 PM

Bishop the Android has his hands full fighting Alien in the 1986 sci-fi shocker.

I had the pleasure of meeting Henriksen himself a few years ago at a convention. he autographed my poster for the film and threw in a free singed copy of his book Not Bad For A Human. Aliens is my favorite film of his. No surprise as I’ve stated numerous times the Alien saga is my favorite science fiction series.

That being the case, I’ve written about the series quite often on MoviePilot. My Alien articles have been my most consistently successful pieces, aided in no small part by a loyal fan base to which I’m glad to belong. This week I decided to write an article on the underrated Alien 3, with special emphasis given on how the 2003 Assembly Cut vastly improved the movie.

How ‘Alien 3’ Received Redemption Through a Second Release made a pretty immediate splash in the fan community, appearing on several pages I frequent mere hours after I published it. That was a pretty promising sign as it meant bigger exposure for my work. Overall the article was well received.

Back to old Lance, I follow his page on Facebook where he talks about his films, shares his pottery and paintings, and lists upcoming convention appearances. I was checking my feed today when I happened to scroll past Lance’s page and noticed an article he was sharing.

Lance Henriksen Shared My Article

It was my article.

This marks the second time an actor associated with the film I was writing about shared my article, the first being when Tom Noonan shared my article on Manhunter. Lance However was something different. This was a guy who I’ve admired and loved since I was 12 years old. His films have left an indelible impression on me and have continued to influence my work. To top it off, he’s one of the nicest movie stars that I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.

That he noticed my article makes me very happy. Not just for the increased view count, but that maybe he recognized something of value in it, and therefor something about my writing pipe dream that maybe means it’ll all be worthwhile.

Thank you Lance. You’re always awesome.

For those who are interested, feel free to check out my MoviePilot profile page. I write about a variety of topics from Predator to Pokemon.

Who knows? Maybe Sigourney Weaver will notice the next one.

4 thoughts on “When A Favorite Actor Shares Your Writing

Leave a Reply

